Posted by: theodorecosmosophia | April 7, 2011

Happy 3rd Birthday to Cosima, a Cosmos of Possibility for the Future and of Joy in the Present

Cosima & Babbo, Northern California River

I would put you to sleep

Rocking you

Holding you

Walking from room to room

Looking out the window

At the trees

You loved so much,

As you cried

And squirmed

In my arms.

 

And at last

Your eyes would grow heavy.

What a relief,

When finally

I could lay you down;

When I could let go.

 

But there was always a pause,

A moment,

When I realized

That what I wanted most

Was not to let you go at all,

But to hold you.

 

And I would,

For just a few more minutes,

Before I had

To let you go.

I looked at those trees,

As you did,

As I do now,

As I remember,

And wept silently,

Knowing, fearing

Letting you go

Forever.

 

Summer 2008

Leave a Reply

Categories

